Going Up (Louis Hirsch) New L.A. Cast Recording (CD)


SKU: going-up-(louis-hirsch)-new-l.a.-cast-recording-(cd) Categories: , ,


Although largely forgotten today, Louis Hirsch was one of the most important and progressive musical theater composers during the years surrounding World War I. His biggest hit, among a dozen Broadway shows, was the 1917 Going Up, which exploited the current fascination with airplanes. This studio recording, with four-hand piano accompaniment, showcases Hirsch’s bottomless melodic well and the rhythmic and harmonic stylings that kept him apace with Jerome Kern.


Going Up is a musical comedy in three acts with music by Louis Hirsch and book and lyrics by Otto Harbach and James Montgomery. Set in Lenox, Massachusetts, United States at the end of World War I, the musical tells the story of a writer turned aviator who wins the hand of the high society girl that he loves by his daring handling of the joystick of a biplane. Popular songs included “Hip Hooray,” “If You Look in Her Eyes,” “Kiss Me,” “Going Up,” “Do It for Me,” “The Tickle Toe,” and “Down! Up! Left! Right!”.


The musical was a hit on Broadway in 1917 and again the following year in London. Revivals and a film adaptation followed.





by Louis Hirsch


ACT I: Lounging room at Gordon Inn: Lenox, Massachusetts


1. Overture 5:11

2. Opening Chorus: Hello! Hello!

3:46 Miss Zonne, Ensemble

3. I’ll Bet You 3:01 John Gordon, Ensemble

4. I Want a Boy (Who’s Determined to Do What I Say) 2:05 Madeline Manners, Hopkinson Brown

5. If You Look in Her Eyes 2:54 Grace Douglas, Madeline Manners

6. Going Up 2:24 Jules Gaillard, Ensemble

7. Finale 1:06 Ensemble


ACT II: Sitting room of Robert Street’s apartment at the Inn, same evening

8. Entr’acte


9. The Touch of a Woman’s Hand 3:14 Grace Douglas, Girls

10. Down! Up! Left! Right! 1:48 Street, Brown, Brooks, Robinson

11. Do It for Me 4:47 Madeline Manners, Hopkinson Brown

12. Ev’rybody Ought to Know How to Do the Tickle Toe 1:43 Grace Douglas, Ensemble

13. Kiss Me 3:04 Grace Douglas, Jules Gaillard

14. Scene: If You Look in Her Eyes 0:59 Grace Douglas, Robert Street

15. Finale 0:53 Ensemble


ACT III: Scene I – A field near Gordon Inn, 6:00 the next afternoon / Scene II – Another portion of the field /

Scene III – In the air, an hour later / Scene IV – Exterior of hotel, one hour later

16. Entr’acte 2:08

17. Opening Chorus: Hip Hooray 0:56 Ensemble

18. There’s a Brand New Hero 2:37 Jules Gaillard, Ensemble

19. Here’s to the Two of You 1:30 Grace Douglas, Ensemble

20. Front Scene: You Start to Sway 2:20 Ensemble

21. Finale Ultimo 2:04 Ensemble


Bonus Songs by Irving Berlin

22. Come Along to Toy Town

4:30 Elyse Marchant

23. When the Curtain Falls 5:47 Elyse Marchant, Ryan Reithmeier



1 CD Total playing time: 59:58 min.

Additional information


Louis Hirsch








There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Going Up (Louis Hirsch) New L.A. Cast Recording (CD)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *