Sheldon Harnick – Hidden Treasures 1949 – 2013 (2-CDs)


SKU: sheldon-harnick---hidden-treasures-1949---2013-(2-cds) Categories: , , ,


Sheldon Harnick is a site favorite. I have known him for many years. This 2-CD Set honors one of the most fecund minds and fertile careers ever to grace our Great White Way. It is an astonishing collection of work – considered as a whole – it will take your breath away. As Seth Rudetsky would say, “Sheldon’s got it!”


In this historic release, the great lyricist of Fiddler on the Roof, She Loves Me and the Pulitzer Prize-winning Fiorello! shares with musical theater fans 53 of his HIDDEN TREASURES — rarely heard songs from 17 musicals, with many songs performed by Harnick himself and his late composer-partner Jerry Bock.


Three cuts feature Harnick as recorded just last year for this special collection, and other archival recordings star three-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald, Brian d’Arcy James, Charlotte Rae and more.


The 2-CD set is a grand celebration of Harnick’s 90th birthday on April 30th and the 50th-anniversary year of “Fiddler on the Roof.” That musical’s iconic “Sunrise,


Sunset” is being released for the first time in its original demo recording by Bock and Harnick.


Harbinger Records producers Ken Bloom and Bill Rudman have worked closely with Harnick for two years on this project. The deluxe package includes a 60-page booklet with extensive notes by Harnick and a Foreword by famed Broadway producer Harold Prince, who comments: “This magnificent set is testimony to Sheldon’s extraordinary gifts, and to his place in the pantheon of Broadway musical creators.”



Sheldon Harnick – Hidden Treasures 1949 – 2013


Tracks: Disc 1

1. How Could I?

2. Ballad of the Shape of Things

3. I Can’t Get Used to These Clothes

4. Merry Little Minuet

5. Garbage

6. At the Basilica of St. Anne

7. Isms

8. Let’s Evolve

9. The ABC’s of Success

10. Two by Two

11. All of These and More

12. Every Man for Himself

13. Just My Luck

14. A Relatively Simple Affair

15. Summer Is

16. ’Til The Bootlegger Comes

17. Where do I go From Here?

18. Little Old New York

19. I Wonder What It’s Like

20. The Picture of Happiness

21. Mr. A

22. Worlds Apart

23. Tell Me I Look Nice

22. Worlds Apart

23. Tell me I Look Nice

24. Merry Christmas Bells

25. My North American Drugstore

26. Christmas Eve


Tracks: Disc 2

1. We’ve Never Missed a Sabbath Yet

2. What a Life

3. A Butcher’s Soul

4. Letters From America

5. Dear, Sweet Sewing Machine

6. Get Thee Out

7. When Messiah Comes

8. Sunrise, Sunset

9. What Was That?

10. Talkin’ Truth

11. I Worry/If You Never Try

12. Vengeance

13. Nelson

14. Glory is my Object

15. That’s How Much I Missed You

16. In my own Lifetime

17. We’re a Family

18. Elizabeth

19. Tell Me, Daisy

20. I Brought you a Gift (first Recording)

21. The Pears of Anjou (first Recording)

22. My Star

23. One Family

24. Precious Little

25. Wine, Wine, Wine

26. You Made my Day


Artists: Sheldon Harnick, Jerry Bock, David Baker, Margery Grey, Audra McDonald, Brian d’Arcy James, Charlotte Rae, Danny Meehan, and Buster Davis


Songwriter: Sheldon Harnick

Additional information


Sheldon Harnick


Charlotte Rae


CDR, Double




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sheldon Harnick – Hidden Treasures 1949 – 2013 (2-CDs)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *