Footlight Records
Home > Venice (2013 Public Theater Cast) CD (Matt Sax & Eric Rosen)

View cart
Continue Shopping

Venice (2013 Public Theater Cast) CD (Matt Sax & Eric Rosen)
Composer: Matt Sax
Lyricist: Matt Sax & Eric Rosen

Price: $16.95

Audio CD


Product Description
VENICE was directed by Eric Rosen with book by Rosen, music by Matt Sax, and lyrics by Sax and Rosen, as well as additional music by Curtis Moore and choreography by Chase Brock. The physical CD is a deluxe jewel case package containing a full-color 40-page booklet with lyrics, photos, a show synopsis, as well as an essay by The Public Theater’s artistic director Oskar Eustis. The album is produced by Matt Sax, Curtis Moore and Eric Rosen, with Matt Sax serving as executive producer.

An electrifying new musical, VENICE ignites the stage with a fusion of musical styles from hip-hop and rock to soaring anthems of love and hope, tracing a young man's rise as he fights for what's right against a backdrop of deceit and sibling betrayal. Part epic romance, part political tale, VENICE will transport you to a fallen city in the not-so-distant future where revolution is in the air, political structures are crumbling, and only the children of the city's fallen heroes can change the course of history. If you dream of peace, follow us. If you dream of freedom, follow us. If you know these are not the same thing, well… are you ready?

1. Citizens of Venice
2. Last Man
3. Waited All These Years
4. Anna
5. City at Sleep
6. Hailey Daisy
7. Sunrise
8. Liberation (Pull Up the People)
9. Never Wish War on a People
10. Final Hour Hymn
11. If Only
12. Poison
13. Willow
14. Wings
15. I Wanna Be Great
16. Put Out the Light
17. We're Not Children Anymore

Music by Matt Sax

Lyrics by Matt Sax & Eric Rosen
Book by Eric Rosen

Additional Music by Curtis Moore

Featuring: Uzo Aduba, Jennifer Damiano, Emilee Dupre, Claybourne Elder, Semhar Ghebremichael, Jonathan David, Leslie Odom Jr., Victoria Platt, Angela Polk, Devin L. Roberts, Matt Sax, Haaz Sleiman, Manuel Stark

“The rafters are shaking downtown at The Public Theater, where the dynamic new hip-hop musical, VENICE, is rocking the Anspacher Theater. The fine performances, kinetic imagery, haunting melodies and memorable lyrics combine to make an adventurous, WINNING MUSICAL EXPERIENCE.”

- Associated Press

"VENICE is an ACTION-FLOODED new musical. Matt Sax is an original voice and presence."
- The New York Times

“A THRILLING piece of theater! Matt Sax's smart lyrics...the score, intelligent and thrilling, is the show's hallmark. The featured players are all first-rate and the ensemble is talented to a jaw-dropping degree.”

"This hip-hop-infused musical has ENERGY TO BURN...exploring big themes of ambition, betrayal, politics and love."
- New York Daily News

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.