Footlight Records
Home > After Midnight: The Original Recordings That Inspired The Broadway Hit After Midnight (CD)

View cart
Continue Shopping

After Midnight: The Original Recordings That Inspired The Broadway Hit After Midnight (CD)
Composer: Duke Ellington
Lyricist: Various Artists
Ellington, Duke

Price: $18.95

Audio CD


Product Description
Track Listings

1. Daybreak Express (1999 Remastered - Take 2/Alternate Take)
2. Happy as the Day Is Long
3. I've Got the World on a String
4. Braggin' in Brass (From the Broadway Revue, "Cotton Club Parade of 1938")
5. I Can't Give You Anything but Love (From the Broadway Revue, "Blackbirds of 1928")
6. Diga Diga Doo
7. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
8. Stormy Weather (Album Version)
9. Raisin' the Rent (From the Broadway Revue, "Cotton Club Parade of 1933")
10. Creole Love Call (Album Version)
11. The Mooche (Album Version)
12. Black and Tan Fantasy
13. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) (Album Version)
14. Cotton Club Stomp (1989 Remastered)
15. Rockin' in Rhythm

This album collects Ellington’s original recordings (between 1927 - 1940) beautifully showcased in the 2014 Best Musical Tony Award-nominated Broadway musical sensation After Midnight, all in one place; including popular favorites like “It Don't Mean a Thing”, “Stormy Weather” and “Cotton Club Stomp”.

After Midnight takes the sexy, smoky glamour of the original Jazz Age and catapults it into a whole new era of heart-pounding, mind-blowing entertainment for modern Broadway audiences. Refracted through a contemporary lens, After Midnight celebrates Duke Ellington’s years at the Cotton Club using his original arrangements and performed by a world-class big band of 17 musicians hand-picked by living jazz legend, Wynton Marsalis. The timeless tunes set against a narrative of Langston Hughes poetry provide an authentic backdrop for an array of cutting-edge performances by 25 sensational vocalists and dancers, including special guest stars, whose interpretations shatter everything you think you know about music, nightlife and Broadway.

After Midnight has been nominated for seven 2014 Tony Awards this season, including Best Musical, Best Choreography, Best Direction of a Musical, and Best Actress of a Musical in a Featured Role, three 2014 Drama Desk Awards, eight 2014 Astaire Award Nominations and is winner of the 2014 Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Choreography.

In its heyday, the Cotton Club featured a cavalcade of guest stars each week, known then as “Celebrity Nights.” After Midnight reintroduces this exciting tradition by presenting stars of today in limited engagement appearances throughout the musical’s run. Grammy Award-winning recording artist Fantasia began the tradition (10/18/13 – 2/9/14), followed by four-time Grammy Award-winning icon k.d. lang (2/11/14 - 3/9/14), Grammy Award-winners Toni Braxton & Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds (3/17/14 - 3/30/14) and multi-platinum recording artist Vanessa Williams (4/11/14 - 5/11/14). Fantasia has returned to After Midnight for a four-week return engagement which started on May 13 and ends on Sunday June 8, 2014, the day of the Tony Awards.

After Midnight features musical direction by Wynton Marsalis, musical supervision by Daryl Waters and direction and choreography by Warren Carlyle. The design team for After Midnight includes prolific design couple Isabel Toledo (costumes) and Ruben Toledo, Tony Award-winners John Lee Beatty (set design) and Howell Binkley (lighting design) and Peter Hylenski (sound).

After Midnight is produced by Scott Sanders Productions, and Wynton Marsalis, in association with Marks-Moore-Turnbull Group; Stephen and Ruth Hendel; Tom Kirdahy.

Browse style(s): Music / Theater Related / Theater Composers / Theater Collections

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.