Footlight Records
Home > Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812 (2-CDs) New York Cast Recording

View cart
Continue Shopping

Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812 (2-CDs) New York Cast Recording
Composer: Dave Malloy
Lyricist: Dave Malloy

Price: $18.95

Audio CD (double)


Product Description
NATASHA, PIERRE & THE GREAT COMET OF 1812 invites you to join Tolstoy’s brash young lovers for an evening you’ll never forget, as vodka flows and passions ignite in Dave Malloy’s electropop opera, ripped from a slice of War and Peace. At once stunning, sensual, and inspired, this singular theatrical event promises “a rare and marvelous event: amidst the din of New York, an oasis of artful illumination.” (Time Out New York)

Since its first production at Ars Nova in the fall of 2012, NATASHA, PIERRE & THE GREAT COMET OF 1812 has become a sensation, meriting expansion this summer to a 199 seat pop-up supper club built specifically for the production in the Meatpacking District. After playing to packed houses since May, producers Howard & Janet Kagan have brought Dave Malloy’s acclaimed electopop opera and its opulent custom venue - Kazino - to the heart of the theater district.

Directed by Rachel Chavkin, NATASHA, PIERRE & THE GREAT COMET OF 1812 has been showered with rave reviews and a host of accolades, including the 2013 Richard Rodgers Award for Musical Theater, a Special Citation from the OBIE Awards, five Drama Desk Award Nominations (Outstanding New Musical, Outstanding Music, Outstanding Lyrics, Outstanding Direction of a Musical, Outstanding Costume Design), two Drama League Award nominations (Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Performance – Phillipa Soo), and the Off-Broadway Alliance Award for Outstanding New Musical.


1. Prologue

2. Pierre

3. Moscow

4. The Private and Intimate Life of the House

5. Natasha & Bolkonskys

6. No One Else

7. The Opera

8. Natasha & Anatole

9. Natasha Lost

10. The Duel

11. Sunday Morning

12. Charming

13. The Ball


14. Letters

15. Sonya & Natasha

16. Sonya Alone

17. Preparations

18. Balaga

19. The Abduction

20. In My House

21. A Call to Pierre

22. Find Anatole

23. Pierre & Anatole

24. Natasha Very Ill

25. Pierre & Andrey

26. Pierre & Natasha

27. The Great Comet of 1812

Written by Dave Malloy

Directed by Rachel Chavkin

Album Produced by Dean Sharenow, Howard and Janet Kagan and

Kurt Deutsch

The cast recording features David Abeles, Brittain Ashford, Gelsey Bell, Catherine Brookman, Nick Choksi, Ken Clark, Ashkon Davaran, Blake DeLong, Amber Gray, Luke Holloway, Dave Malloy, Grace McLean, Azudi Onyejekwe, Paul Pinto, Phillipa Soo, Lucas Steele, Shaina Taub, Mariand Torres and Lauren Zakrin

"Improbably wonderful electro-pop opera... turns out that Tolstoy's introspective, emotional, impetuous characters take remarkably well to the pop-song format." –The New York Times

"Malloy has written a memorable and modern score that blends Russian folk melodies with pop-music hooks and occasional dance beats." –Entertainment Weekly

"Malloy's songs are stunning in their bredth...the music careens from Russian folk to thumping house beats to proto-rap." –Associated Press

"The dazzlingly variegated score–which covers musical terrain from folk songs through rock, R&B and house music–captures [the] story in stirring and surprising ways." –Time Out New York

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.