Footlight Records
Home > Lost Broadway and More - Volume 4 (Women Theatre Composers) (Digital Download at CD Baby! or purchase the CD from Footlight!)

View cart
Continue Shopping

Lost Broadway and More - Volume 4 (Women Theatre Composers) (Digital Download at CD Baby! or purchase the CD from Footlight!)

Price: $17.95

Audio CD


Product Description
DIGITAL DOWNLOADS (and Audio Samples) of this CD are available NOW at CD Baby only!

Footlight Records is proud to announce the release of the latest edition of their popular series Lost Broadway series... Here's Lost Broadway and More - Volume 4! Women Theatre Composers!

While women have excelled in most fields in theatre, there have been remarkably few women composers on Broadway. In fact, this album is the the first to celebrate Women Composers for the musical theatre from Kay Swift of the thirties and onward, to Marian Grudeff of the 1960's, to Rachael Portman and Judith Steir, who are activey composing today.

Volume 4, Women Theatre Composers, will feature previously unrecorded songs from the musical LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE by Academy Award winning composer Rachel Portman, sung by NEWSIES star Kara Lindsay and Kate Loprest (WONDERLAND).

Also appearing on the recording are Max Von Essen (Magaldi in EVITA) and Jill Paice (THE WOMAN IN WHITE, CURTAINS), who sing six songs from Judith Steir's musical ONLY A KINGDOM. Also singing from ONLY A KINGDOM are Donna Lynne Champlin (SWEENEY TODD, HOLLYWOOD ARMS) and Tony-nominated actor Stephen "Mo" Hanan (CATS, JOLSON & CO)

This volume celebrates the woman composer, with several songs by Kay Swift, performed by cabaret legends Steve Ross and KT Sullivan, joined by Swift expert William T. Zeffiro.

Also included are a number of previously unrecorded songs by the team of Marian Grudeff and Ray Jessel, best known for their score to Broadway's BAKER STREET. Included are several cut BAKER STREET songs, songs from their revue HELLZAPOPPIN '67 and songs from their unproduced musical version of NATIONAL VELVET. One of the intriguing additions to this recording is the opportunity to hear a rare composer work tape for a song that was ultimately cut from BAKER STREET.

The song listing with performers follows:

1. The Moment (Only A Kingdom)- Max von Essen & Jill Paice
2. Uh-Uh (Only A Kingdom) - Max von Essen & Jill Paice
3. A Most Reliable Guide (Only A Kingdom)- Stephen “Mo” Hanan & Michael Marcotte
4. In Wonderland (Only A Kingdom) - Jill Paice
5. What Is Forever? (Only A Kingdom)- Max von Essen & Jill Paice
6. Fashion Rules (Only A Kingdom)- Donna Lynne Champlin, Jill Paice & Becky Barta
7. David’s Meditation (Only A Kingdom)- Max von Essen
8. Home Is Where the Duchess Is (Only A Kingdom)- Max von Essen & Jill Paice
9. The Circus is a Family Affair - Steve Ross & William Zeffiro
10. The House Where I Was Born (Paris ‘90) - Steve Ross
11. Country Girls (Little House on the Prairie) - Kate Loprest & Kara Lindsay
12. Growing Up (National Velvet) - Joan Crowe & Marie Pruitt
13. Nobody Breaks My Heart (Fine and Dandy) - K.T. Sullivan & Heather Sullivan
14. I See It In You (National Velvet) - Steven Wilde
15. Look Skyward (Hunter’s Moon)- K.T. Sullivan & Heather Sullivan
16. Enemy (Little House on the Prairie)- Kate Loprest
17. Umbrella (Hellzapoppin ‘67) - Joan Crowe, Marie Pruitt & Steven Wilde
18. Kay Swift Waltz Medley (Paris ‘90)- Steve Ross & K.T. Sullivan
19. Five Senses/Finding Words For Spring (Baker Street) - Marian Grudeff & Ray Jessel
20. A Veritable Work of Art (Baker Street)- Marian Grudeff & Ray Jessel
21. Can’t We Be Friends (The Little Show)- Steve Ross
22. Montreal (Hellzapoppin ‘67) - Ray Jessel

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.