Footlight Records
Home > The Cabaret Girl (Kern/Wodehouse) 2-CDs (The Comic Opera Guild)

View cart
Continue Shopping

The Cabaret Girl (Kern/Wodehouse) 2-CDs (The Comic Opera Guild)
Composer: Jerome Kern
Lyricist: Wodehouse-Grossman
Kern, Jerome

Price: $22.95

Audio CD (double)
Comic Opera Guild


Product Description
The Cabaret Girl is a musical comedy in three acts with music by Jerome Kern and book and lyrics by George Grossmith, Jr. and P. G. Wodehouse. It was produced by Grossmith and J. A. E. Malone at the Winter Garden Theatre in London's West End in September 1922 and featured Dorothy Dickson, Grossmith, Geoffrey Gwyther, and Norman Griffin (later replaced by Leslie Henson) in the leading roles.

The first performance was originally scheduled for Thursday, 14 September 1922, with Henson in a leading role, but he fell ill on the morning of the scheduled opening, which was delayed to allow Griffin to prepare for the part. The show finally opened the following Tuesday, 19 September. According to the reviewer in The Times, "Last night the piece received the warmest of receptions and thoroughly deserved it. The production ran for 361 performances, closing on 11 August 1923. Henson took over from Griffin in January 1924 and the latter then took the show on tour.

2 CD's with the entire score by the Comic Opera Guild of Ann Arbor, Michigan - recorded in 2005.

Act 1
1. Overture
2. Chopin Ad-Lib
3. You Want The Best Seats, We Have 'Em
4. Mr Gravvins - Mr Gripps
5. First Rose Of Summer
6. Oriental Dreams
7. Journey's End
8. Whoop-de-oodle-do
9. At The Ball
10. Dancing Time
11. Finaletto Act 1

Act 2
12. Entr'acte
13. Pergola Patrol
14. Entrance Scena
15. Shimmy With Me
16. Those Days Are Gone Forever
17. Looking All Over For You
18. Nerves
19. Finale Act 2
Act 3
20. Opening Music
21. London, Dear Old London
22. Ka-lu-a
23. Finale

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.