Footlight Records
Home > The Capitol Rarities (1949-1952)

View cart
Continue Shopping

The Capitol Rarities (1949-1952)
Torme, Mel

Price: $17.95

Audio CD

Product Description
Mel Torme was somewhat ambivalent about the recordings he made during the four years he was under contract to Capitol Records, between 1949 and 1952. He chiefly objected to one point, and it was more of a philosophical bone of contention than anything else: that he was, to a degree, expected to do what the label and his producers told him to do.

Torme loved working for the house that Johnny Mercer had built (even though Mercer was no longer actively involved by 1949) and that he personally had a lot of respect for his producer, Lee Gillette. He also loved the orchestrators and conductors such as Pete Rugolo, Frank DeVol, Paul Villepegue and the young (pre-Sinatra) Nelson Riddle, who were working besides him in these years, and was grateful for the opportunity to share the microphone with the likes of Peggy Lee. He also liked nearly all of the songs that the label gave him to sing—even if he had complete approval, he would have probably picked pretty nearly the same tunes.

1. The Piccolino
2. Sail Away on the Henry Clay
3. The One For Me
4. Love Is Such A Cheat
5. Bundle of Love
6. You Locked Your Heart
7. Foolish Rumors
8. The Queen of Hearts Is Missing
9. X In The Middle of Texas
10. Around the World
11. The Sidewalk Shuffle
12. Who Sends You Orchids
13. Take My Heart
14. Black Moonlight
15. Anywhere I Wonder
16. Casually
17. It Made You Happy
18. A Stranger In Town
19. Don't Leave Me

Browse style(s): Music / Vocalists / Male Vocalists

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.