Footlight Records
Home > Take Flight

View cart
Continue Shopping

Take Flight
Version: LONDON 2007
Composer: Maltby, Jr., Richard/Shire, David
Triplett, Sally Ann/Bartholomew, Ian/Jibson, Michael

Price: $19.95

Audio CD

Product Description
TAKE FLIGHT, the new musical by award-winning songwriting duo Richard Maltby, Jr. and David Shire (Starting Here, Starting Now and Closer Than Ever) and librettist John Weidman (Pacific Overtures, Assassins), soared in its 2007 world premiere at London's Menier Chocolate Factory. Now it receives a first-class introduction to the world at large in this stunning new recording. TAKE FLIGHT weaves fact and fiction to tell the funny, moving and inspirational stories of the pioneers of aviation: the Wright Brothers, Charles Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart. But this complex musical is not simply a history of flying; it also illuminates relationships, the cost of fame, and the human need to take risks. In TAKE FLIGHT, all-too-human aviators dare to dream the universal dream of soaring above it all. Listeners will, too, in this lush and melodic original cast recording, starring Sally Ann Triplett, Ian Bartholomew and Michael Jibson.

1. Take Flight
2. Equilibrium
3. Sky!
4. Like You, Say
5. Throw It to the Wind
6. Solo/Sorry, Mr. Lindbergh
7. Lady in That Aeroplane
8. Lady Lindy
9. What Are We Doing Here?
10. Earthbound
11. Before the Dawn
12. Back of the Line
13. Before the Dawn (reprise)
14. The Funniest Thing
15. (The Farther You Go) Around the World/Papua
16. The Prize/The Landing
17. Finale

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.