Footlight Records
Home > Cranks

View cart
Continue Shopping

Version: LONDON
Composer: Addison, John
Lyricist: Cranko, John
Newley, Anthony/Ross, Annie/Bryant, Hugh

Price: $15.95

Audio CD

Product Description
The landmark revue Cranks was first performed just before Christmas 1955 and upon receiving glowing reviews it quickly moved into the West End to the St. Martin's Theatre. Written and devised by John Cranko, a respected choreographer of the Sadler's Wells Ballet Company and John Addison who composed the score, Cranko's new wave revue had a style and approach of its own, and this followed the choice of musical accompaniment - a harpsichord, doubled with a piano, and a harp.

The cast were a deliberate mix. One black male and a white female joined two white men: Anthony Newley, with a score or so non-singing films under his belt, and ballet dancer Gilbert Vernon. The remaining two other performers were the American Hugh Bryant making his first appearance in Britain and Annie Ross, the jazz singer: both were replacements for the West End transfer but featured in the cast recording.

Cranks transferred to the Duchess Theatre in May and finally went to the Lyric, Hammersmith where it stayed until mid September eventually totalling a respectable 223 performances in London. Two months later it opened, cast intact, on Broadway at the Bijou Theatre.

Long unavailable, the cast recording of Cranks has been digitally remastered for this CD release. For bonus tracks we include ten songs performed by Annie Ross, mainly recorded in the mid-1950s, around the time she was in Cranks, and most are appearing on CD for the first time.

1. Who’s Who / Adrift - Gilbert, Annie, Hugh & Anthony 3:57
2. Where Has Tom Gone? - Hugh, Anthony & Annie 2:14
3. Cold Comfort - Anthony Newley 2:14
4. Passacaglia - Orchestra 1:47
5. Who Is It Always There - Annie Ross & Anthony Newley 3:13
6. Chiromancy - Hugh Bryant 2:08
7. New Blue - Annie Ross 3:31
8. Valse Anglaise - Annie, Hugh & Anthony 2:54
9. Don’t Let Him Know You - Hugh, Anthony & Annie 3:07
10. Sea Song - Hugh Bryant 2:58
11. Telephone Tango - Anthony, Annie & Gilbert 2:35
12. I’m The Boy You Should Say “Yes” To - Anthony & Annie1:56
13. Metamorphosis - Hugh, Annie, Anthony & Gilbert 3:25
14. Would You Let Me Know? - Annie Ross & Anthony Newley 2:25
15. Dirge - Hugh Bryant 3:53
16. Arthur, Son Of Martha - Gilbert, Annie, Antony & Hugh 2:18
17. Goodnight - Cast 1:21

Bonus Tracks:
18. Annies Blues - Annie Ross 2:46
19. Twisted - Annie Ross 2:37
20. Farmer’s Market - Annie Ross 2:41
21. The Time Was Right - Annie Ross 3:15
22. Annie’s Lament - Annie Ross 2:57
23. The Fish - Annie Ross 2:20
24. Mama (He Treats Your Daughter Mean) - Annie Ross 2:34
25. Cry Me A River - Annie Ross 2:50
26. Only You (And You Alone) - Annie Ross 2:07
27. I Want You To Be My Baby - Annie Ross 2:07

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.