Footlight Records
Home > So Long, 174th Street (Original Broadway Cast and Kaye Ballard!) CD (Robert Morse, George S. Irving, Loni Ackerman)

View cart
Continue Shopping

So Long, 174th Street (Original Broadway Cast and Kaye Ballard!) CD (Robert Morse, George S. Irving, Loni Ackerman)
Composer: Daniels, Stan
Lyricist: Daniels, Stan
Ballard, Kaye/Morse, Robert

Price: $14.95

Audio CD

Product Description
Original Broadway Cast Recording!
Starring Kaye Ballard and Robert Morse
17 Tracks total.

The HILARIOUS Digital Single of "The Butler's Song" sung by the great George S. Irving (with the original loud and lush orchestrations by Luther Henderson!) is Now Available for Digital Download (with Audio Samples) at CD Baby,,, - and all amazon stores worldwide - iTunes, 7digital, Shazam, 24-7 Entertainment, Google Play Music Store and other online retailers!

So Long, 174th Street is a musical with a book by Joseph Stein and lyrics and music by Stan Daniels.

Based on Stein's play Enter Laughing, which had been adapted from the Carl Reiner book of the same name and served as the basis for a 1967 film, it focuses on the journey of young David Kolowitz from factory helper to actor - and from insecure adolescence to self-assured adulthood - in just three whirlwind days in New York City in the late 1930s.

After six previews, the Broadway production, directed by Burt Shevelove and choreographed by Alan Johnson, opened on April 27, 1976 at the Harkness Theatre, where it closed after only 16 performances. The cast included Robert Morse, George S. Irving, Loni Ackerman, and Rita Rudner.

Clive Barnes of the New York Times observed, "The people involved are talented enough . . . So what went wrong? How did Enter Laughing end up leaving us yawning?" He noted composer/lyricist Stan Daniels was a producer of The Mary Tyler Moore Show and suggested "he should stay where he is well off . . . when the music and lyrics do not work for a musical, the musical does not work."

The recording of the score produced by Bruce Yeko's Original Cast Records, with Kaye Ballard added to the cast, was released in 1981.

Track Listing:
1. Act 1: Overture
2. Act 1: David Kolowitz, The Actor
3. Act 1: It's Like
4. Act 1: I'm Undressing Girls With My Eyes
5. Act 1: Bolero On Rye
6. Act 1: Whoever You Are
7. Act 1: Say The Words
8. Act 1: You
9. Act 1: My Son, The Druggist
10. Act 1: He Touched Her
11. Act 1: Men
12. Act 1: Boy, Oh Boy
13. Act 2: The Butler's Song
14. Act 2: Being With You
15. Act 2: If You Want To Break Your Mother's Heart
16. Act 2: Hot Cha Cha
17. Act 2: So Long, 174th Street

Browse style(s): Music / Cast Recordings

Home | Payment/Shipping Info | E-Mail | Order Status
Footlight is now an internet store only! Address: P.O. Box 496, Georgetown, CT, 06829
Our new hours of operation are: Sunday - Friday 12pm - 5pm
Phone & Fax: (203) 544-8288 E-Mail:
Copyright © 2001-2014, Footlight Records. All rights reserved.